Top lenses
Film Cameras
Japanese Lenses
German Lenses
Russian Lenses
MFL Club Members
Lenses
Wide Angle Lenses
Lenses by Mount
Top Photos
Company identity
Corporate indentity
Low cost web design
Konica Hexanon Lenses
Your ad here
Your ad here
Your ad here
Your ad here
Mac OSX Tools logo
Your ad here
Konica Cameras
Voigtlander
Pentax 645 CZJ Flektogon 50mm f4
Nikon FA
Canonet QL 17
Meyer-Optik Görlitz Domiplan 50mm f/2.8 Lens Review
Share
Surprisingly very good lens, I thought this would be a low quality lens, because pretty little and I suppose this come from Meyer cheap product line.
Vendor name
Type name
Product year
Meyer-Optik Görlitz
Domiplan
 
Focal min (mm)
Focal max (mm)
Focus min(cm)
50
50
75
Aperture maxAperture min
BaRREL LENGTH (mm)
2.8
22
40
Elements
Diaphragm action Weight (g)
3 elements in 3 groups
fully automatic
150
Filter size (mm)
PUsh on diameter(mm)
Angular field
49
42 47

Meyer-Optik Görlitz Domiplan 50mm f/2.8

This lens has comparable quality with other Meyer or CZJ in this focal length, I think same level of Carl Zeiss Jena Tessar 50mm f/2.8 or Carl Zeiss Jena Biotar 50mm f/2.8. See pictures in gallery this lens very good performer and sharp enough for close-up works.I found only one problem, this lens has no auto-manual switch, this makes harder to use on DSLR bodies.Must have to use right M42 adapter what able to handle this problem or fix auto stick with power glue to solve problem forever :). 

User opinions:

Most people has no opinion from this lens or they say this average lens nothing special, don't know my copy is excellent really. 

Sample pictures:

Gallery

Related resources:

ebay.com|ebay.co.uk|ebay.de|google.com|forum

Praktica-Users.com 

Auto lens often inoperable

Tags:
Share
 
Comments (9)
Lightweight little jewel
9Tuesday, 29 July 2014 04:28
dR bENARD
It's far lighter than my MC Pentacon which has closer focusing ability as does my Biotar. It is more like the Tessar lens. I love the eye pleasing effects I can create with landscapes.

Handling is terrible that contributes to negative opinions.
Domiplan
8Friday, 25 July 2014 01:27
Kaare
I love the lens.
Domiplan Mayer.
7Saturday, 21 July 2012 04:41
I have two Domiplan lenses, one for Praktica (screw) and other for Exakta. Both excellents lenses.
I think when you do not get good results with this lens possibly cause is that the rear element is missalignment.
Three small screw fix this element and aligned it,if this element is misaligned the results are very bad.
Domiplan
6Tuesday, 01 May 2012 23:13
I don't have the domiplan but I tested accurately many samples of the pentacon 50mm. 1.8 who was made by the same factory as the domiplan.
The difference is that the pentacon is 6 elements against the 3 elements of the domiplan.
The results were very bad at diafragms open more than 5.6.
I suppose that domipkan, a simple triplet, cannot be better.
By the way the best 50mm. I tried was the super takumar 50 1.4.
lente domiplan 50mm 2.8 da meyer optik - gorlitz
5Friday, 06 April 2012 14:53
Excelente optica uma das melhores que conheço na distancia focal de 5mm e abertura max. 2.8.Sou coleccionador no campo da fotografia.
My Meyer Gorlitz Domiplan 2.8 50mm
4Monday, 12 December 2011 23:01
I just got one for $9 (including shipping) from the Bay. Would this be an indication of its quality? I hope not. I bought a Meyer-Optik Something Else 37mm f2.8 on M39 mount, adapted to M42, paid about $60 for it, and while I am please with the center (really sharp), it is absolutely soft or messy on the surronding areas. I hope this Domiplan is not bad, I will post in couple of days.
I got my Domiplan
Friday, 16 December 2011 00:55
As I did not expect, this lens came broken, I guess. It is only working wide open at f2.8. I guess it has the spring broken. The shots taken are relatively OK wide open.
Domiplan 2.8
3Wednesday, 28 September 2011 06:42
Perhaps some other readers have encountered a bad copy of this lens, but I was pleasantly surprised by mine. It is quite sharp when stopped down and seems to have even better color rendition than my Pentacon 50mm, which is a multicoated lens. The Domiplan takes a 49mm filter, not a 55mm as stated above. The front element is deeply recessed making a lens shade unnecessary.
A disguised gem
2Thursday, 06 May 2010 22:49
I too own this lens and I am pleasantly surprised.

My copy happens to be very good as it seems as it produces sharp images even wide open. To be be fair however I 've only used it on my DSLRs which means that msotly the center of the lens is used.

When I received the lens I was amazed by the simplicity of it's construction and light weight. It doesn't claim any quality awards, mechanically speaking, and it's a bit akward to use. Still, it produces very pleasant images and I am happy to have it in my collection.
My first 50mm
1Saturday, 13 February 2010 00:06
In 1978 I got my very first SLR. It was a used Practica PL Nova 1B. With the camera came two lenses, a 200/f4 and a Meyer Domiplan 50 f2.8. For two years I used the camera and the lenses extensively. The 200mm was surprisingly decent but the Meyer 50mm was crap. Horrible, bad, utter crap. Through the years I have since used many 50mm lenses and none of them have been as bad as the Domiplan. The biggest problem is that the lens has super soft corners. Forget soft, blury is a better word. I mostly used the lens for B/W, which was lucky for me. The few slide films I shot shows that the lens has severe color problems.
From a usability standpoint the very thin focus ring makes the lens harder to focus than necessary and it is difficult to avoid altering the aparture during focusing.
I have tested a host of other CZJ Praktica 50mm lenses. I am not all that impressed, but they are of much higher quality than the Meyer Domiplan.Avoid.

Add your comment

Your name:
Subject:
Comment: